Tuesday, October 11

All The Bright Places | Jennifer Niven


I haven't read a good book for a really long time. In fact, I haven't read a full book for a while. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven is a 'story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die'.

It's very raw and feels very real. It wasn't until I read the credits bit at the end that I discovered Jennifer has suffered loss in her own life, and her writing therefore makes the book really powerful.

It covers topics on mental health, with a focus on suicide and thoughts from a young person's perspective. The chapters change between the male and female character, which I really enjoyed. 


The ending made me cry. Like, ugly cry. (You've been warned!)

Here's the synopsis:

"Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the 'natural wonders' of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham."


Pick it up. Highly recommend. I can't wait to buy her next book called Holding Up The Universe. Let me know if you've read it!



SHARE:

5 comments

  1. I really want to pick this book up, but I get so emotional over books like this. The Fault in our Stars by John Green almost killed me... the feels the feels...
    But reading this has made me want to read it even more... I'm torn.
    Great review though :)
    PS Love your blog and YT (typical enthusiastic viewer comment)

    ReplyDelete
  2. This would've been perfect for my holiday, I've heard such good things about it too. i really must try and get back into reading! xx

    sophiejc.blogspot.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
  3. Its a wonderful post and include about the right places.I just surprised upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.I am so impressed and grateful for sharing the beautiful places information.Thanks a lot. Custom essay writing service is better for students,it helps students for their academic course while giving more and effective tips for writing works.

    ReplyDelete
  4. A good overview of the book, I did not expect that read something like this. There is a wonderful book "The Fault in Our Stars", advice to read, there is a very touching story, which is somewhat similar. Here you can try yourself in the role of the author may write several essays on the topic you are interested in and get a nice bonus http://paidpaper.net/review-of-essaybox/. I've done this before, until I found myself in another case.

    ReplyDelete
  5. All the Bright Places is a 2015 youthful grown-up novel by Jennifer Niven. essayleaks The work was initially distributed on January 6, 2015 through Knopf Publishing Group and is Niven's first youthful grown-up work.

    ReplyDelete

© Brogan Tate xo. All rights reserved.
Blogger Templates made by pipdig