Tuesday, October 11

All The Bright Places | Jennifer Niven


I haven't read a good book for a really long time. In fact, I haven't read a full book for a while. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven is a 'story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die'.

It's very raw and feels very real. It wasn't until I read the credits bit at the end that I discovered Jennifer has suffered loss in her own life, and her writing therefore makes the book really powerful.

It covers topics on mental health, with a focus on suicide and thoughts from a young person's perspective. The chapters change between the male and female character, which I really enjoyed. 


The ending made me cry. Like, ugly cry. (You've been warned!)

Here's the synopsis:

"Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the 'natural wonders' of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham."


Pick it up. Highly recommend. I can't wait to buy her next book called Holding Up The Universe. Let me know if you've read it!



SHARE:
Blogger Template Created by pipdig